What should I buy next?

rbicker

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
This is my first post on here! I am a relatively new photographer that wants to get some opinions about adding a flash to my gear!

This is the flash I am looking at adding...
Amazon.com: Nikon SB-700 AF Speedlight Flash for Nikon Digital SLR Cameras: Camera & Photo

Is this the next logical step for me? I added a basic 50mm prime lens to my gear a little while back and the flash is what I was thinking of adding next. What benefit if any will I see in my pictures and do you think with the gear I already have that this is the point I should add the flash? Is there something else I should add first?

Here is what I currently have as far as gear goes:
Nikon D5100 Body
Nikkor 18-55mm (Standard Kit Lens)
Nikkor 55-300mm (Standard Kit Lens)
Nikkor 50mm Prime Lens
BlackRapid Shoulder Sling
A few Misc filters
Spare Battery

Thanks for any help you all can give me!

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
Personally I think EVERYONE needs OEM flashes.. they are built like a rock, and perform (and outperform the chinese made stuff, consistently)

Just because someone is a "complete noob" doesn't mean they shouldn't buy the best equipment they can afford, it is an investment that will pay off in the long run. Personally I admire the "noob" for wanting the best.. and being willing to learn how to use flash in the first place.

But then I consider anyone who hasn't been shooting since 1966 to be a "NOOB" of some sort or another! I am sure I am a "Noob" to some people....

Well, shoot! I'll go with the flash.

Yes, you will see a huge difference in using flash as opposed to not owning one.