What the secret?

Evertking

How do I turn this thing on?
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I have been looking at professional portrait photographers web sites and trying to figure out how they get those rich, dreamy shots!!?? Is it light room? I bought a 85 mm 1.8 to use in stead of my nifty fifty and it does a awesome job! I'm still new to all this but I can't help but wonder what's the secret?

Perhaps link (Please don't post images which aren't yours) to some examples of these "dreamy" images and post a couple of your own detailing where you feel they lack. Generally speaking however, it's a result of experience, skill, and basic technique: Proper exposure, lighting and focus, selecting the best aperture and posing the subject to advantage.

IMG_8829_1-01-01.jpeg
IMG_8591-01.jpeg
IMG_8817_1-01.jpeg

Here is just one of mine.. I'm a noob but some of the pics I see are just awsome.. dreamy is not a good word. They just POP I guess..
I figured it is my skill level as I'm just learning and not even attempted manual mode yet. But I'm guessing that is why some lens cost sooo much is that they give the results I see. Or is my Canon 85 mm 1.8 capable of these images?

it's in the focus, the light and the depth of field. Your kid is a real cutie but you missed focus, you should've shot this in vertical (Portrait) mode.

Just a few quick thoughts for future improvement:

1. Cute shot, great moment and lovely backlight. Faces are slightly under-exposed and white balance is off; older child is yellow, younger red. Watch the crop/framing as the you've cut the elbow off of the younger child.

2. Looks like some gaussian blur added in post. Highlights are a touch hot (but not bad), and would have preferred the hair not be cropped off. The background image left is very busy and distracting.