What to do when you are out of your element?

JLEphoto

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.eldridgestudios.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I used to live in East Tennessee (30 min from the Smoky Mountains). I was an avid nature/wildlife photographer and spent several days a week there doing just that. My wife and I moved to Homestead, FL (just south of Miami) and my majestic landscapes are gone and with that a bit of my passion. I have had little experience in other areas of Photography and could use some guidance/encouragement to rekindle my passion. So, do you have any?

Get a macro lens and discover the landscapes of the macro world :)
A nice 90mm or longe macro is great for insects and then you can flik to the other end of the scale - take a shorter prime lens (or good zoom) and stick extension tubes onto it for a wider more landscapy view of the macro world

Bird photography.... I know it sounds odd from landscape....But that is what did it for me... Now thru march all of the wonderful birds come to south florida and it is very challenging but yet very rewarding.

You need long fast glass though.

Don't forget about the everglades and the wild gators...they can be fun to shoot too.

I live in south florida and I moved here from the midwest so I know what your going through.

Cheers, Joe

Last edited:
you also live in florida?

take advantage of the beach views, the water and the sights. go to coral castle :D

shoot people in bikinis :D

All kidding aside.... When I start getting bored with my photography I look at what other photographers are shooting in my area.

Here is my flickr stream to give you some ideas.

Flickr: joemcbroom's Photostream