what's a good fee to charge for photography?

Dew

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
seems like everywhere i go with my cam, someone is always approaching me asking if im a photographer... "im an amateur," .. i say

i got a guy who works for some small magazine/paper and wants me to shoot some kind of street event ... he asked, "how much do u charge?"

but honestly, i dont know what the going rate is? ... perhaps 10 pics or something ... u think i should charge per photo? ... per hour?

whats the going rate for an amateur like myself?

Forget the amatuer talk. It only promotes a shallow self worth that will be taken advantage of.

You'll charge a day rate for your services and then usage for each image used.

pick up the photographers market to learn how to set your rates.

well, i like to let them know that im no pro :lol: ... in case everything falls apart, im not comfortable with calling myself a pro ... i still lack experience.. if their looking for a pro (and dont want to work with an amateur) ... i refer them to my more experienced hubby ... but i wont call myself a pro, thats fraud :p

for example:

i had a shoot last week with an individual that was a train wreck, i couldnt get into the shoot really.. and i couldnt pick out the best pics, cause i felt they all were trash :lol: ... but a pro could seperate his feelings from his profession, im not there yet :D ... my pics are my babies :oops:

How do you get into the business? I admit i'm only 18 and people prolly arent looking for me to take pictures for them yet (although my friends did enjoy their senior pictures) but I itend to make photography my career. Just curious how to get people to pay me

for real, this is my hobby, im not ready to go "pro" .... i'm sorta a perfectionist and i need to perfect my craft a little more, plus i believe in crawling before walking .. i've only been doing this about 2 months, i need more experiece