What's wrong w/ this pic?

iombie

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello I love this area and i'm new with HDR but I think the noise is too much in this?

6561079293_625eb15ace_z.jpg

The horizon isn't straight and I'm not a fan of that heavily overcooked HDR treatment that many like. I think I like the composition but I can't get past that heavy oversaturation. I'd crop out the vehicle on the left side though.

Noise is too much because you used too high a Lighting adjustment (Compression). It makes everything even the shadows a mid tone and when you make a shadow a mid tone... it brings with it noise

I would say what is wrong with it is there wasn't enough dynamic range in the scene to even bother with HDR.

I believe you can avoid these noisy artifacts by adding more exposures. Typically when people go out to make HDRs they just do three exposures with ±2 stops and hope that everything is within this latitude. What I would suggest doing is spot metering the lightest area and the darkest area, and then expose every two stops between. You may not actually use all of these steps, but you'll be sure that everything is there.

LIke mentioned above, the horizon really bothers me on this one

how about the anchors on land? why isnt it in the water?

I think there is certainly enough range for this to be an HDR image. Its just not processed right in my opinion. A little too oversaturated. But not that much. I think the main problem is your composition. What exactly is your subject? Id crop the image so the van was gone and take out some of the grass and some of the sky so you end up with a landscape shaped image after the cropping. Ah, its easier to show than to explain.

33cnihh.jpg

This def looks much better, I used photomatix pro with 3 exposures and the subject is the old rust anchor in front on ground with cruise ships in background.