When a session goes poorly

GPC

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hello! This is my first post here. I'm a family/infant/child photographer.

Today I had my first bad session with a client. It was a newborn session. I described in detail via email to the parents what the session would entail, including that it can be a lengthy session, up to three hours, when you allow for feedings, diaper changes, etc.

I usually have fantastic rapport with clients. Everything felt off as soon as I walked in the door. I'm guessing the parents were tired (as all new parents are) but they were short with me and short with each other. I shot for about 30-35 minutes and then baby wanted to eat and needed a diaper change. The dad picked up the baby and announced that the shoot was over. I told him that I was happy to wait for baby to eat, etc.. Both parents were adamant that the session was over, that surely I had enough photos and then basically said good-bye and left the room.

So, I have no idea what was going for them, but what I do know is I have barely three images that I'm really happy with and only a couple more that I barely pleased with. This is the first time this has happened. I usually have to cut myself off when processing photos at around 30, even though I only guarantee approximately 15.

I'm just not sure how to handle it from here. I'm so bummed. I usually leave sessions elated and can't wait to sit down to start editing. Right now I'm just staring at what little photos I have and cringing. Any advice?

A THREE-HOUR newborn session???

I used to work at a studio where we took seven finished images in as little as 10 minutes. A newborn baby can be photographed fast, if you are prepared, and have a plan. I'm sorry, but a three-hour session is just totally,totally out of the question in terms of expecting that either a baby, or two parents, will put up with that much of an imposition.