When did you "get it"?

JenR

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
At what point (if ever) did you start to feel like you really, truly understood photography?

I have done some reading and understand the basics of aperture, shutter speed, ISO, etc. I have read my camera manual cover-to-cover and understand most of it. :)

I see great picture opportunities all the time, but can't quite get the camera to capture what I envision. Once I get the images to the computer, I realize that I should have been shooting at a different angle or with more or less DOF or whatever. I take plenty of pictures (I just took 40 of my daughter eating a snack), but can never quite capture in pixels the scene that I see in my head. Does it ever get more instinctual (is that even a real word?) or am I expecting way, way too much?

~jen

Hahaha good question. It probably depends on education, experience, equipment, etc. I've been shooting for about 4 years now, 2 of which I would say more seriously (implying I've thought more about the pics I take).

I do feel like I understand what I'm doing and how I can help my chances of getting a good shot but it's rarely a sure thing. I read a quote somewhere (not sure who said it) but it was something to the affect of "If I knew how to take good pictures, I'd do it every time."

If I knew how to take good pictures, I'd do it every time
Sounds pretty true to me as well :lol:

There are so many aspects to photography...I don't think there is a point when you 'get it all'...it's just a unending series of things to learn.

Here is something that I read somewhere and sort of took to heart...It's a profound moment when you stop seeing the things you photograph and start seeing the light.

The more you shoot, the more it becomes ingrained in you, but I always feel like there's more to learn. If I haven't discovered something new in a while, I start to feel stagnant.
(Which is where I am now, as I haven't been shooting.)