When?

Emerana

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
When did you start calling yourself a "photographer"? I have been shooting a month, so I call myself a picture taker :)

It depends who I'm talking to whether I do or not. But I'll be honest with you...I'm not a photographer really...I'm workin on it, though.

i prefer to call myself an artist, I dont make any money with photos and photographer seems a bit professional for what i like to do.

At this point in my evolution, I am an enthusiastic amateur "something"... lol.
Camera buff? Maybe.
Photographer? Not quite earned that yet, IMHO.

I have lots of time to earn that in my own eyes, though. No rush. It is only a word... and words tend to want to classify. I have no desire to classify my status in this hobby any deeper at this moment than perhaps "a seeker of the pleasures in learning photography" for now.

When you are a) making money, b) everyone calls you a photographer, c) you have the urge to join some social title to gain a sense of self awareness even though you're still just a picture taker.

When did you start calling yourself a "photographer"?

Never did. Never will.
Others did, though, even in the newspaper, but those weren't my words!

"I like to take photos" is my way of putting it.

I think I've earned to call my self a photographer, come on people. A good one? Not really. Pro? Definitely NOT.

But I don't think the term "photographer" means professional or good by any means, now days at least.

calling yourself a photographer is one thing. calling yourself a professional photographer is quite another.

i have always called myself a photographer, even when i first started. when i talk to other people about my VERY EXPEN$IVE passion, i say i am learning to be a good photographer. when i speak to fellow photographers i say that i am learning to see.

if you were playing drums (good or not) you would still be a drummer.