Where to begin..

Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
So, I posted a few pictures on here earlier. I'm not going to lie, I got a nice dose of reality. A dose of reality that I probably needed. Anyway, I'd really like to get better at photography. I want to learn how to create stunning images. I've only got a Rebel, and I know that's not a professional camera. But, it's all I have right now, and all I can afford. I just enrolled in a basic photography class (composition, darkroom, etc) for the fall semester at my college (and got some wierd looks from my Biology advisor- I'm a 3rd year pre-med student), but fall is a long time away. Are there any books you'd recommend to help me learn about composition, lighting(!), and focus?

Understanding Exposure by Bryan Peterson. It's helped me understand so much more about photography in general and how important light is.

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
youtube saved me tons of time starting out... search for exposure triangle. Once you get the basics stick to manual, apperture priority, shutter priority on your camera and go from there.

Definitely avoid Auto and P modes and try to use either manual or A or T modes. If you do this you'll be forced to pay attention to aperture and shutter speed (and ISO) settings and will learn much more.

BTW, the Rebel you have (even if an earlier model), if it has a decent lens on it (almost any Canon lens and many others) is capable of taking better quality pictures than most of the cameras used by professionals fifty years ago. You shouldn't feel that it is much of a limitation. The higher models available today will give you more capability in some ways, but it is very possible to make some stunning images with a Rebel.