Which camera is for me...D750 or D810.....?

JMcDonald

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hey guys! I need some help....I'm fairly new to photography on the professional level.. I've been around it my whole life. My dad was an avid photographer so I know how to take a decent picture...... I've been doing Aerial Photography and am now going to expand to full on photography.

My wife owns a wedding company so she kinda lured me in...ha...I am definitely set on a Nikon and have been playing with the D810 and D750. Which lenses to start with...?

I'm going to mostly do Portraits, Photo Shoots, Weddings, and definitely landscape/cityscape.

I do love to record videos as well, so making short films is a plus. Doesn't need to be 4K because 1080 is just a good.

Thanks for the help in advance!

I am doing wedding photography and use mainly my Nikon D750 for that.
I will recommend you to go for the D750 for few reasons.
AF on it is a little better in low light for locking focus
Its cheaper
Less MP which means easier processing
Better in low light situation
Has the swivel screen which I find helpful for high or low shots which happened a lot in events, this screen is also helpful for video.
Overall the D810 is more of a studio and landscape camera while the D750 is more of a wedding and general use camera.
For event photography or video I think the D750 is better suited.

Although with the looming announcement of the d820 you might find a steal of a deal on eBay on the D810

I do love to record videos as well, so making short films is a plus. Doesn't need to be 4K because 1080 is just a good.
Good thing because neither the D750 nor D810 have 4k video.

I love my D750, though I prefer the button layout on the D810. Both would be great but as mentioned the D750 has some advantage in low light such as many wedding venues. 70-200/2.8 and 24-70/2.8 are the standard professional lenses.