Which digital SLR?? Sony A100, Nikon D80, or Canon EOS 400D?

Which would you buy, if you were new to SLR photography?

• Sony A100

Votes: 2 8.3%
  • Nikon D80

Votes: 14 58.3%
  • Canon EOS 400D (ie. latest Rebel)

Votes: 8 33.3%

• Total voters

Chumpy

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hi
I'm about to purchase a 10mp digital SLR.

I'm torn between the Sony A100, Nikon D80, and Canon EOS 400d.

Is there a comparison of these cameras, in terms of performance?? ie. startup speeds, battery power, continuous shooting etc etc?

I quite like the Sony's capability for digital image stabilisation on the camera body. I believe the Canon is built into each lens (??) What about the Nikon??

Which has the best / cheapest ranges of lenses??

I'm a newbie, so don't have any kit to bring forward from other cameras.

If you were buying from scratch, which would you buy, and why??

Thanks

My personal order of preference would be Nikon, Canon, then Sony.
I'm sure if you search dpreview.com you'll come up with some reviews and comparisons. Canon and Nikon both sell lenses with stabilization built in, not all lenses from them have it, though, just the IS (Canon) and VR (Nikkor).
Best and cheapest? Can't have both, Canon and Nikon both have cheap lenses, and awesome lenses. I personally feel that Nikon's cheap glass is better than Canon's cheap glass, at least as far as kit lenses go. This is all my opinion and nothing more.

Thanks to all for the replies. Some good info., and good links.

I was leaning towards the Sony..... then the Canon....
I think the Nikon is nice, but in my novice opinion some of the sample pics are poorer than those on the Canon or Sony (and the Nikon is more expensive by quite a way)

I like the idea of the Canon, but it doesn't have the Image Stabilisation built in the body like the Sony does. To buy Canon lenses with IS built in, would costs a small fortune.

Is IS used much in Digital photography??
How good is it??

Or would I find I never use IS anyway??

Thanks