Which lens is better?

jepry

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I finally picked up my first DSLR (canon XT), I am a complete newbie to photography!!

I have read just about everywhere that the kit 18-55mm lens sucks. I found my dads old canon lenses from about 100 years ago and was wondering which is better.

One is the EF 28-70mm 3.5-4.5, and the other is a zoom EF 70-210mm.

Should I use the kit 18-55 or the really old 28-70?
(please remember that I am a total newb at this stuff)

THanks

If the lenses you got from your dad are really old, they might not work on your dSLR.

The kit lens really isn't that bad. You can take some wonderful pictures with it.

Bev

Welcome to the forum.

I have read just about everywhere that the kit 18-55mm lens sucks
Have you personally found that lens to be lacking?
It's actually not that bad of a lens. The worst part is its light weight construction, which makes it feel like a toy compared to other lenses. I suggest using it when you need it.

Should I use the kit 18-55 or the really old 28-70?
Use the one that best suits your purpose. The 18-55 is a much wider lens, so if you want or need a wider view, then use that one. If you find that you like the 28-70 better, then use that one.

If you want to see which one performs better, use a tripod and print off a lens test chart (Google it).

If the lenses you got from your dad are really old, they might not work on your dSLR.
They are EF lenses, they will work.

Hello there. I'm going to have to dissect your post a bit... relevant bit underlined...

I finally picked up my first DSLR (canon XT), I am a complete newbie to photography!!

I have read just about everywhere that the kit 18-55mm lens sucks.