Which lens to use when?

Newbie29

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
When would you use a 50mm F/1.4 lens and when would you use an 85mm F/1.8 lens? Are they both much the same? Are there situations where you would use one over the other? I'm relatively new to the world of digital photography - I own a Canon 30D SLR with three lenses - the 50mm, 85mm and a 17-85 zoom lens. I like taking photos of families and children - not that I have had much experience at this!

pretty much use the 50 for general stuff and the 85 for when you want to get in closer
as for the 17-85 use that for when you want more wide angle (obviously) but also when you just want more versatility (IE not a fixed focal length)

Yep, the 50 and 85 have a pretty noticeable focal length difference, I mean 85 is almost double the 50, so the 50 would be for general stuff. There is a reason why it is such a popular lens. 85 would be for things you can't walk close enough to, things that you need a closer view of. I would probably use one during sporting events, or where there is a limit to how close you can get to the action, and that limit is not enough. Sometimes you either can't get close enough to something or just don't want to disturb anything.

For portrait work, the 85mm will subtly flatten the nose and is generally preferred (even 105mm) for a more flattering image. For landscape work the 50mm will produce an image where object distances appears much like the eye perceives...which is why it was often called a 'normal' lens.

So, the 85mm is probably better for portrait work? Is it true that the 85mm is better for outdoor portrait work and the 50mm for indoors?