Which monitor for color management retouching in product photography?

jbench

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hi everyone - I've been using a LaCie CRT screen for many years and now have to replace it. I shoot with a mac book pro laptop. What is a quality monitor for color retouching/management? In the past I know it has been known to not be a good idea to use the laptop screen. So, then, what monitor would be best to use with my mac book pro? Do any of the Mac monitors have color, contrast and brightness controls? Are there other monitors just as good or better for less money? thanks for your input....

There should be a few older threads that lay out the pros & cons of different monitors. I think that one of the key factors, is the type of technology. For example, the most common (and cheapest) type of flat panel monitor is a TN (twisted nematic). They are OK for gaming, movies & general computing, but not so great for photo editing. They can't display a large color gamut and they don't necessarily calibrate all that well.

A better type is IPS (in-plane switching). They used to be quite expensive but some are reasonably priced these days.

There is much more to it, but I'm no expert...so hopefully someone with more knowledge (Garbz) will come around.

I do product photography, and I use four different monitors at the moment: