which nikon is best for my budget?

WPHOTOG

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
My budget is £900 could stretch to £950. Second hand is fine also.

I have a Nikon D5100 at the moment with a 50mm 1.8 and 70-300mm. I know lenses play a major part to photography but please note I am on about camera's so no lens talk please. I have used a Nikon D300, D3200, D7000 but not sure on which one to go for.

I shoot equine, fast moving sport and looking for a camera with a fast focus, sharp images (again, I know lenses play a massive part!) ect. I was looking into a Nikon D610/700? I want a professional camera, of course not a D4 as such but a nice camera to see me through the next few years which gives me great results. I am not a novice therefore know how to use a camera.

Thank you.

To help better, what is your d5100 not doing to your satisfaction?

I find that when I take action shots, such as a horse jumpings, it's not focusing fast, or focusing on something else. I shoot manual mode and always have done. Hasn't got the best ISO for indoor shots, picture quality and I'm not liking the feeling of the camera anymore either. I want to go a few steps higher as I feel I need to be getting out and covering events but the D5100 just isn't my cup of tea anymore.

I find that when I take action shots, such as a horse jumpings, it's not focusing fast, or focusing on something else. I shoot manual mode and always have done. Hasn't got the best ISO for indoor shots, picture quality and I'm not liking the feeling of the camera anymore either. I want to go a few steps higher as I feel I need to be getting out and covering events but the D5100 just isn't my cup of tea anymore.