Which upgrade to go with?

stillmotionphotos

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hey guys and gals,

I am a new professional photographer and thinking about doing an upgrade from my Nikon D80.

So my budget is somewhere in the 2000 range for camera and Lens, I have minimum lenses currently so i am not focused on staying with Nikon.

Right now I am thinking about the

7D- Canon
Nikon 700

Any other suggestions?

Thanks

Josh

Still Motion Photography

if you've already got nikon lenses, why spend money to start over with canon? get the d700

I agree. Switching systems will only cost you money.

If you buy another Nikon, you can keep your current cameras as a 2nd/backup...which is a necessity for a working pro.

You say you have minimum lenses right now...so my advice would be to start there with your upgrade. Simply changing the camera probably won't make as much of a difference as adding a high quality lens or two.

I agree. Switching systems will only cost you money.

If you buy another Nikon, you can keep your current cameras as a 2nd/backup...which is a necessity for a working pro.

You say you have minimum lenses right now...so my advice would be to start there with your upgrade. Simply changing the camera probably won't make as much of a difference as adding a high quality lens or two.

+1 :thumbup:

+2!
Good glass is where a lot of quality in an image starts (as well as good lighting of course). In addition bare in mind what I said in your other thread - its not enough just to get a new camera body or a new lens or other bit of gear - you have to have a plan of where you are going and what limitation you are going to overcome with this new gear.
So again I say sit down and work out where you are heading - then start to research that area and find out your weakenesses in terms of photographic skill and gear - then start to get advice on what gear to purchase to start to help you overcome some of your limitations.