Which wireless Trigger to use??

Paddyjnr

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi I am new to this but i have a keen interest in expanding my photography using some flash techniques. I normally just photograph landscape as a hobby only...
My question is... I have a canon eos 30d and a sigma EF-500DG super Flash and I want to try and operate this wirelessly without too much expense... Any suggestions on what wireless device to buy??? Thank you

Like all equipment questions, budget is all important. Cactus V5 and Yongnuo triggers are the best of the consumer level units. Pocket Wizards and Radio Poppers are the more pro-level.

Like Ron, I use Phottix but mine are the Phottix Strato II units. A bit cheaper than the Atlas units, but I have zero issues with them so far. I was using the inexpensive Cowboy units (dirt cheap) but they just felt cheap so I kept them as backups but bought some nicer units in the Phottix brand.

Check the manual that came with the Sigma Flash and make sure it will work w/ triggers. The easiest way to do this is to try it on another camera a hotshoe that is not Canon Ettl.
My sigma 610 super wont fire with triggers or on non Canon Ettl hotshoes.
You may want to check compatability before spending on trigger.

Like Ron, I use Phottix but mine are the Phottix Strato II units. A bit cheaper than the Atlas units, but I have zero issues with them so far. I was using the inexpensive Cowboy units (dirt cheap) but they just felt cheap so I kept them as backups but bought some nicer units in the Phottix brand.
Will I need two triggers to operate one flash or is one enough.. I don't think my Canon 30d has a wireless option... My apologies for probably sounding silly but this stuff really is all new to me... Thank you for all your comments..