White Balance for IR

Cid242

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I am new to IR photography, ok I am new at alot, but I have a Sony DSC-H1 and I have a Hoya R-72 filter and I cannot get my camera to allow me to set the custom white balance I need to take these pics. I am sure I am missing something, thats the norm for me lol. Anyway, I have tried to set the white balance with the filter on and aimed at a brightly lit patch of grass, as I have heard is a good white balance for this and the camera just will not accept the custom white balance. I have tried the auto white balance and setting the white balance to the same patch of grass with no filter on and the pics just come out VERY red and not easily cleaned up. Any ideas on how I can get the white balance to set to a good one for these pictures would be greatly appreciated. I am dying to get deeper into this but cannot afford one of the higher priced modified cameras. Thanks to any and all people that can help.

Shot in RAW and set the White Balance afterwards, you'll have to tweak it anyway.
My IR white balance is usually an exposed shot of the sky with the filter on.
not sure how you go about setting custom white balance on your camera though.

Yeah I wish I had the option to shoot in RAW. Sadly I am stuck with what I have and that is just JPEG. Thanks for the answer though.

You may have better luck using a gray card to set the white balance. I'd try setting the white balance with the card first then attach the IR filter. You could also try just using the auto WB but include a gray card in the frame where it could be easily cropped. In post process you could then balance using the gray card in the image.

When I experimented with this, I set the whitebalance using green grass or foliage. I think I got the tip from a forum.

The other tip I had was also to try a piece of white paper to set the white balance.