White lines across film

Bolle

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hi there, I'm new to photography and have bought my first ever camera- a Minolta x570. The first roll of film came out pretty well, but a lot of the photos have a white line through them. Is this something on the film or to do with the way the camera winds on the film? I noticed when I took the film out the back panel was out of line, could this be the problem?

Thanks for your help.

It could be a scratch that put itself onto your film mechanically... but hey, I'm only guessing here.
Welcome to ThePhotoForum, all the same!!! :D

Do you have an example? It might be a mechanical scratch. If it's more like a streak in some of the pictures, it could be a light leak. The camera could need a CLA treatment (cleaning, lubricating, adjustment), which in not unusual for older cameras, especially if they've been used rather than just sitting in a closet.

Hi there, I'm new to photography and have bought my first ever camera- a Minolta x570. The first roll of film came out pretty well, but a lot of the photos have a white line through them. Is this something on the film or to do with the way the camera winds on the film? I noticed when I took the film out the back panel was out of line, could this be the problem?

Thanks for your help.
B&W film, or color? When you say back panel, are you talking about the plate that holds the film flat, or the door itself?

The first thing you have to do is check the negatives. If it's b&w and showing a white line through the print, then there would be a black line through the negatives.

It could be a scratch that put itself onto your film mechanically... but hey, I'm only guessing here.
Welcome to ThePhotoForum, all the same!!! :D

Wouldn't a scratch in the film's substrate result in a black line on print?

My guess is a light leak