Who owns what?

Nimitz

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I am a semi-professional photographer who has sold images I have taken to magazines for which they pay me a fee to publish but I ( as the one who took the image) retain the copyright. That I understand. Now , I'm getting ready to move into a studio-type business where customers will come to my studio for a sitting or I will go to there home

I know that as the photograher I still retain the image copyright but here's where I get lost. They pay me and I take their picture and provide them with prints - fine. Now, what if I want to take the image of them and use it in some form where I will make money off it (send to a magazine, publish in a calendar, etc). Don't I need to get their permission if they are recognizable in the image? How do most studios handle this? Do they have the customer sign something (at the time of the sitting) which gives the photographer permission to use the image commercially later on so they don't have to try and track down the customer?

What about if I'm photographing the individual's pets? Do you need permission from someone to use a photograph of their 'property' for commercial purposes (assuming you own the copyright)? Remember, in most states, pets are considered property for legal purposes. This is the real question since I'll be doing mostly pet portraits with the possibility of the owners also being in some of the images.

Is there somewhere I can go to read up and get smart about this stuff? Thanks

As always these questions can only be answered by you and the client and a lot of research. Just make sure that everyone is clear on who owns what before money changes hands.

Personally I am on the payroll of the newspaper and several magazines. They own the work I shoot for them. I am welcome to use the shots for my portfolio, but that is as far as it goes. My commercial clients pay for usage and rights depending on their needs.