Why Film?

8x10nomore

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.brucekersten.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I have been a commercial photographer since 1977 and I have been all digital since 2003. My favorite format was 4x5 and my studio ran all its own film. Besides seeing things larger in large format and those lovely film accidents that would lead me to discovering new techniques, I do not miss film at all.

I do not want to start an emotional argument by this thread, but to have some meaningful conversations about the pros and cons to film and digital.

I greatly appreciate your perspectives and look forward to some great conversations.

Thanks-

I still enjoy working with film. I don't mind getting out the chemicals and mixing it. Dont mind the occasional snag loading reels.

One thing about digital is I have yet to get some of my best slides to transfer over to the coputer yet. I will admit I have not gone to place with a very high quality scanner. I did just buy a Nikon Coolscan 5000. Hoping it will put out better results than I have achieved in the past. I do photography truely as a hobby. It's for enjoyment, so sometimes the long road is not such a bad way.

I am going digital more often though.

Digital and film are two different mediums. It's just a matter of preference
which medium one likes to work with.

For example, film photography is easier and "sharper" than painting but that
doesn't mean film photography is better than painting. Some people just
prefer creating and hanging a painting on their wall instead of a photo.

I like B&W film photography, working with different film/developer combinations,
and using older equipment. I just enjoy it. It's not a matter of "pros
& cons" for me.

I use digital photography too in my business but I take no great pleasure in
it. For pleasure I use film.

I still enjoy working with film. I don't mind getting out the chemicals and mixing it. Dont mind the occasional snag loading reels.