Wide angle lens for a beginner

abhishekdg

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hi friends,
Already ordered my first DSLR - Nikon D90 with 35 mm f1.8G lens to be used as an everyday lens. But am mostly inclined towards landscape photography and hence looking for a wide angle lens... Any suggestions what might ift a beginner like me..Do not want to end up with an ultra wide lens that I cannot handle.
Ofcourse I do have photography sense as I have been using my Olypus film for the past 5-6 years. But new to DSLR world and budget is around 600$. Ofcourse will get a second hand lens but wanna know your suggestion..

Honestly, you will be better off getting a 18-55 VR to start you off, an ultra wide lens (i.e. Sigma 10-20, Nikon 10-24 etc) is a very difficult beast to use and learn. I got a 10-20 and used it for a while and wondered why most of my photos were complete junk. This is because an UWA is a special purpose lens and is certainly not suitable for all situations. A UWA is a lens that exagerates the foreground whilst making everything you see with your own eyes look tiny, this is why you will sometimes hear people describe an UWA lens as a 'foreground' lens.

18MM will be more than wide enough for you and will give you a great introduction into wide angle photography. The 18mm on your D90 will be equivalent to 27mm on a full frame camera. Also ignore some of the poor advice you get that all landscape photography needs to be taken with the an UWA lens, this is simply not true. An UWA can spoil a landscape photograph if it is not used correctly and an UWA lens is certainly not a neccesity to take great landscape photos, there are some pros who do not even use UWA lens for landscape photos, they go as wide as 24mm and are happy with that. I love my 10-20 Sigma, but I have only begun to love it since actually learning how a UWA lens should be used. Hope this helps.