Wide angle lens recommendation

tubbys4

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hi there,

I am relatively new to the photography game and am thoroughly enjoying myself so far!
I am interested in buying a wide angle lens to use for landscape and large party/group shots.
I currently own a Canon 550D with Canon 50mm, 18-55mm and 55-250mm lenses.
At the moment I am looking at a Canon 10-22mm wide angle zoom lens or a 20mm prime lens.
I was wondering if anyone has experienced these lenses and which they would recommend.
Would you recommend a wide angle zoom lens over a prime one. Is there any other lenses that you would suggest?

Thanks for your help,

Sally

Hi there,

I am relatively new to the photography game and am thoroughly enjoying myself so far!
I am interested in buying a wide angle lens to use for landscape and large party/group shots.
I currently own a Canon 550D with Canon 50mm, 18-55mm and 55-250mm lenses.
At the moment I am looking at a Canon 10-22mm wide angle zoom lens or a 20mm prime lens.
I was wondering if anyone has experienced these lenses and which they would recommend.
Would you recommend a wide angle zoom lens over a prime one. Is there any other lenses that you would suggest?

Thanks for your help,

Sally

I own the EF10-22 which was my first additional lens for my 550d and I really love the lens. It is fantastic for big vistas down at the 10mm end but also very useful for group and architecural shots at 22mm. It should fill the gap nicely from very wide angle up to your 18-55. As its an EF lens its a step up in quality from what you have and I have read some web reviews calling it "almost an L series without the L".

I am at work at the moment, but once home will try and find some example shots that I took with the 10-22/550d combination.

Hope it helps.