Wide Angle Lens

arch8

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I am new to photography and I just bought a Canon Rebel T3i and a Sigma 10-20mm f4-5.6 ultra wide angle lens. I want to shoot interiors of my listings (I'm a real estate agent), but was expecting a more dramatic angle from this lens (I am shooting at 10mm setting). I read the following on a website that made me think my camera is too basic and if I got a better camera I would get a more dramatic angle from my lens. Is this true?

“On a full-frame camera, a 20mm lens is considered wide-angle because there is no crop factor on the camera; however, on a consumer-level DSLR (this includes ALL DSLRs which cost less than $1,600 body only), there is a built-in crop factor, so a 20mm lens on a crop factor camera won’t be a wide-angle.”

Any info/education would be appreciated. Thanks

A 20mm lens on a full frame camera would be a LESS dramatic angle than a 10mm on a crop frame. Because 10 * 1.6 = 16mm apparent angle, which is wider than 20mm.

And your 10-20 will not fit onto a full frame, since it is a crop frame lens only. Well, actually that one in particular does physically fit without crashing into the mirror (at least it did on my 6D), but half of your image will just be black all around the outside edge.

If you want a more dramatic angle, there are options, though:
1) Get a 180 degree fisheye and "De-fish" it in software. You won't get very high resolution around the edges (can't print at very large sizes), but you will get some image.
2) Do panoramas and stitch them together to a wider effective angle.
3) There are some lenses for full frames that are wider equivalents. Like the 14mm Rokinon full frame rectalinear lens, which is the equivalent of 8.75mm on a crop frame, slightly wider than your 10-20.
4) PInhole photography can get to 180 degrees pretty cheaply, but.. you know, looks like a pinhole photograph.