WiFi for Nikon D810

Nikonrich

TPF Noob!
Joined
Jan 14, 2021
Messages
7
Reaction score
0
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hi,

Anyone got any suggestions for adding wifi to a D810?

Nikon's offering is ridiculously overpriced for what it does so wondering if there were other options.

Thanks.
 

JBPhotog

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Joined
Mar 26, 2018
Messages
790
Reaction score
321
Location
Canada
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
What is it you are trying to do with Wi-Fi? There are other hardware options if it is to push photos to a device.
 
OP
N

Nikonrich

TPF Noob!
Joined
Jan 14, 2021
Messages
7
Reaction score
0
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I'm looking at image transfer and tethering.
 

JBPhotog

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Joined
Mar 26, 2018
Messages
790
Reaction score
321
Location
Canada
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
There are a few options, check out:
- CamFi Pro.
- Tether Tools Air Direct, which works with Capture One.
- Tether Tools Case Air, mobile or tablet Wi-Fi tethering.

If you really want the best tethering performance a hardwired version is the best as raw file can be slow to transfer. I have the Case Air for occasional use should I need a client to see the images.
 
OP
N

Nikonrich

TPF Noob!
Joined
Jan 14, 2021
Messages
7
Reaction score
0
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hi, thanks for the detailed reply, a few things to check out there. I would prefer cabled tethering but when I connected my 810 toy laptop the tethering option was now visible in Light room? Very strange!
 

ronlane

What's next?
Supporting Member
Joined
Aug 3, 2012
Messages
10,030
Reaction score
4,612
Location
Mustang Oklahoma
Website
www.lane-images.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
You should be able to wire tether the 810 in LR. I would check the updates and check with LR about that, doesn't seem right to me.
 
OP
N

Nikonrich

TPF Noob!
Joined
Jan 14, 2021
Messages
7
Reaction score
0
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
You should be able to wire tether the 810 in LR. I would check the updates and check with LR about that, doesn't seem right to me.

Apparently the version of Lightroom that installed as part of my Adobe CC package was not the correct one!!!!

I have installed Lightroom Classic and the tethering option is now there.

Seems stupid to me but at least I can tether now!
 

Most reactions

New Topics

Top