will 50 minits of exposure shooting star trails pics brake my camera

dub-sport

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
hi there im quite new to all this any way iv brought the canon eos 350d dslr and im taking about 50 minit exposure pics of the stars this is in the south of england im taking these pics late at night so it aint worm thats for sure i got told its the heat that brakes the camera and basicly is this true long exposure shortens the camera life very quickly i use my camera every Sunday thats about it really and now and then on family and sunsets an thats it if this is true how long do u think it will last .....any info on this will be great and im sorry for and spelling ..thanks

I'm no expert at astronomical photography, but most digital camera's designed for that application have coolers to keep their CCD's stabilized. If your camera has a CMOS sensor, they run at a lot less power, so you might be safer.

Maybe someone else has more information for you.

thanks for your reply Michael T

You can leave the shutter open for as long as you wish ... it won't hurt the camera, but make sure that the battery is charged so that it doesn't go dead in the middle of an exposure.

Sorry Bill Boehme, but your twelve exposures have nothing to do with the OP's original question. I'm guessing that each of those 12 exposures is no longer the 1/100th to 1/160th second. Much longer than 1/100, you will start to get blurs as the moon orbits.

As an example this one exposure was taken at shutter speed 1/160:

D30_0166_edited-1.jpg

Long...really long exposures can possibly have a detrimental effect on the image with a cropped sensor. I can't remember the thread, but have a search within the last 3 months from a poster called Garbz with regard to long exposure. Best of my recollection is that it is possible to fry pixels, but there is more to it as far as image quality.