Working with curves

Aquarium Dreams

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
This is my first try at playing with the RGB channels in curves. The first is the original, no pp work. The second has levels, sharpening, and five curves layers. I was trying to bring out the color. I've been shooting a lot of ermmm.. walls.. lately, so I've been working on ways to punch up color and texture. What I'm looking for here is if I'm doing the curves right, or if it looks overdone or the color looks off. If anyone has any tips for working with RGB curves, let me know!

475818340_2693f4fd6e_o.jpg

475818354_776487e6bc_o.jpg

Hi Aquarium

My initial reaction is that 5 curve layers seems like a lot. One usually does the job

I personally find that curves comes in most handy for giving the contrast a little boost or for creating unusual colour effects, but that's all

I find the Levels option a much better choice for controling colour. I see in your description you state you have used levels, do you have a good understanding of using Levels?.

Your processed picture definately is more contrasty and saturated, possibly a bit much for my taste but i'm not sure

The point of color curves is to increase or decrease saturation in a particular part of the tonal range, i.e. you can make, say, the reddest parts more or less red, while leaving the rest relatively untouched.

Another option would be something like the channel mixer.

Thanks for the responses! I could have used two curves layers and done the same thing, but I used a different one for every channel, so I could turn their visibility on and off one at a time while I adjusted them. I like the saturation, but I think there's too much red and too much contrast.