would someone take a minute to help me out?

O.k. so now for more harshness. What job exactly are you applying for with vacation snapshots of marginal quality. If someone is looking to hire a person to take their vacation snapshots with a point and shoot camera SIGN ME UP!! I would love that job. I mean if this is this is the kind of image they want I wouldnt even have to worry about exposure composition or proper lighting. O.k. I'm sorry that was mean but I can't see any potential employer being any nicer and I guess it's better to hear it here than being dumped on by a potential employer and sent home without a job. Oh and by the way you say "im not expecting anyone to think that these are spectacular because im not a pro" if thats the case why are you applying for a job that requires you to present a portfolio??.

Did you get only 3 hours of sleep in the last 5 days?

Crosby

Did you get only 3 hours of sleep in the last 5 days?

I deserved that shot.. ROFL!

Speaking as someone that had a great night's rest (finally!! :D )

Sincerely, there is one small aspect that is important to consider. If there is someone that wants to become a professional in ANYTHING, it takes quite a lot more than a strong desire.

That desire WILL get you far, but you cannot enter the Boston Marathon before you learn to train hard, and you cannot learn to train hard before you learn to run... and you cannot learn to run until you learn to walk. Finally, you cannot learn to walk until you have learned to crawl.

We have many GOOD people around that have an incredible desire to do something with their cameras, and I for one was previously often not very respectful of that desire, but blurted out the harsh realities which I basically stated in the paragraph above this one.

Maybe there is a way to state what is obvious to us, without destroying the desire in the one doing the asking?