"Wow, your pictures just are not very good..."

sabbath999

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
"Wow, your pictures just are not very good..."

That is what I feel like saying after browsing around on a lot of the websites for commercial photographers in my area...

I am comparing them to some of the sites that y'all fellow TPF people put up, and it is night and day... and I am not talking about the quality of the web designs, I am talking about the PICTURES posted as examples.

I am not a pro shooter any more, I left the business years ago... but I think I have a reasonable idea of what a good, well composed, well lit, well processed/postprocessed photo looks like... and these folks just don't. Why in the world somebody would use some of these pictures as advertising is beyond me.

Here is what brought me to this. I have had several people ask me if I would shoot their weddings... but I don't do weddings any more (or anything else commercial at the moment)... so I have been looking around for an affordable, professional looking photographer to recommend, and so far I have found nothing.

Have you ever looked up the websites of some of your competitors (not that these are my competitors, I don't shoot commercially) and cringed?

My area is filled with FANTASTIC photographers...so when I search, I usually find some outstanding photos and I do cringe but it's because they are my competition.

I have seen a few bad ones, with poor photos on their site...and I agree, it's hard to fathom why they would use crap like that to advertise...or why people would hire them.