Wrong film in AE-1

Brutus

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
After shooting about four rolls of film through my Canon AE-1, I noticed I had the ASA selection on 100, but all four of my rolls were ASA 200. I didn't have it on Automatic, I was using the full manual controls, and I'm wondering if all of my shots are going to be so overexposed as so to make it not worth even getting the film developed, or will the exposure be fixable during developing and post processing?

If you were shooting color print film, you're fine. In fact color print film often
looks better if shot at half the box speed.

Oh, well that's quite the relief, haha. I'm very new to 35mm shooting, so I'm still trying to figure out which speeds work best for me in given situations. Thanks.

If you were shooting color print film, you're fine. In fact color print film often

really.....so suppose I shoot FujiColor Pro 160, should I do a couple frames at 80 ASA? Kodak Portra 400vc @ 200? I didn't know that, damn I'll have to get a couple rolls this weekend and try that. :thumbup: I've always shot the rated ISO, this sounds like a neat little trick. It's a shame my Maxxum 4 doesn't have an ISO override (or if it does I haven't figured it out yet)

What about B+W?

negative film is commonly used at half the box speed with slide film more common to underexpose about 1/3 of a stop

really.....so suppose I shoot FujiColor Pro 160, should I do a couple frames at 80 ASA? Kodak Portra 400vc @ 200? I didn't know that, damn I'll have to get a couple rolls this weekend and try that. :thumbup: I've always shot the rated ISO, this sounds like a neat little trick. It's a shame my Maxxum 4 doesn't have an ISO override (or if it does I haven't figured it out yet)

Different films may respond to this trick differently but in general most
color print films can easily handle a one-stop over-exposure and often
benefit with less grainy shadow areas and better overall image