Yes or no? Canon 3000V SLR

Becky

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hi there,

I'm looking for some good advice on whether or not to buy the Canon SLR 3000V camera. I can get either the single lens or a twin kit both at a good price and am very tempted. I've never used SLR cameras before and would love to go down the digital route but unfortunately its just too pricey right now and I'm a student! Also I'd be a little concerned about spending a tonne of money and then not being that interested after a while... I thought a standard SLR might be a good way to get a feel for this sort of camera etc and decide whether a digital would be a better option at some point?

I was wondering if this camera is regarded as good to start on? Since the Canon lenses are interchangeable I figured if I really like SLR photography I can always buy a digital body at a later date.

Any thoughts please?

Thanks in advance :)

hi becky, welcome to the forums!

Im my honest opinion, yes. Any SLR would be a good place to start if you were testing the waters to determine your level of interest in photography. An SLR will teach you the basics, let you play around with odd settings to get different results, and let you interchange lenses. I think this is the best route for you. Digital is great, but like you said, its a pricey initial investment.

Im not sure what the prices are for the 3000V but you should also look at fully manual cameras from nikon or canon. a good AE-1 will be super cheap, and alot of professional photogs use that camera religiously.

hope that helps, take care and good luck!

matt

First off, welcome to our little corner of the Web. :)

I came within wallet-opening distance of buying a 3000V a few months ago but had second thoughts when I was offered a cheap deal on an EOS 350D (i'm still $400 short).