Yet another member going back in the dark

Rick58

Been spending a lot of time on here!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello folks. I'm the new guy on the block and this will be my first post,
I've been playing in the dark, on and off, for about 40 years. I could never bring myself to selling off my equipment and it turns out fortunately so. as I'm setting up again. My problem is, I'm from the old school days of Kodak and Ilford. My old standbys were Plus X pan, Tri X, D-76, Dektol and printing on various Kodak and Ilford papers. Now I go shopping for supplies and I feel like a newbie. What's out there that you people prefer. I do mostly landscape work

If you've actually never used Tmax films and Tmax developer, you should try them. Back when I was doing film I found them much better than Plus X/Tri X developed in D-76, or even in HC110, which I preferred to D-76. Last time I did any darkroom work (ca. 1997) I was using the same papers and developer you mention, so I can't suggest anything there.

Welcome to the TPF!

You can still find Ilford papers - graded, variable contrast, fiber based or RC. I like (love!) Freestyle Photographic for pretty much all my online ordering. If you're lucky enough to have a brick & mortar photo shop near you, certainly try there first to support the locals! :)

For Kodak and other darkroom chemistry, you might try Photographer's Formulary. They are amazing at being able to supply any "discontinued" favorites, it will just be rebranded. A wonderful place in Montana!