You Got Style?

nolatome

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
So I have been shooting weddings for 6 years now, and finally I am getting to where I can feel a style developing for myself. I know there are many catagories out there phojo, traditional, classical/phojo, and most recent fashion styles. So the reason for this thread is what is the feeling out there, for wedding photographers?
I am a traditional wedding photographer, I focus on poses, and candid in between, but people management, and event organization are my strongest assets besides my photos. So I guess I use the classical/phojo approach. However I am finding that the Fashion look is becoming more popular, and I think is the most creative approach to weddings since photojournalism. I want to develop a style, so I would like to hear from others, how they got their style, and what they think of style in Wedding photography.
I mean are we just documentors, of a special day, or are we hired artists to create a lasting memory that uncle ester could never do with his digi-cam?

Good topic.

I personally don't like all the labels..."journalistic, classic, fashion" etc. Your style is your style and that's it. I can see where some styles can be compared to those different types of photography...but I don't think that putting a label on what you do really matters.

I'm just getting started in doing this professionally, but I've been shooting at weddings for years. I guess I have developed a style or way of doing things...but I don't know how I would categorize it.

Part of it is doing what the client wants and part of it is doing what you know because that's what attracted the clients to you in the first place.

I mean are we just documentors, of a special day, or are we hired artists to create a lasting memory that uncle ester could never do with his digi-cam?
Can't we be both?