YOUNG BEGINNING PHOTOGRAPHER

McWeasley

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I've been an avid photographer since i was 13, i'm now 17. i know i'm barely an amateur, but i would really really like any sort of feedback or critiquing. even if it's just to tell me maybe i should pursue another hobby, i don't care. i've only recently starting posting my photos online, and i want all the help i can get. any sort of beginning tips or critiques would be awesome. my flickr is : http://www.flickr.com/photos/mcweasley/
:
)

Looks like you have quite a few photos on your flickr...why don't you pick 3 or 4 of your favorites and post them here? A lot of people don't like to click on links, and most people probably won't look through 100+ photos.

if you tell him 3 or 4, he'll post 5.

Pick 1 or 2, tell us why you think they are good and where you think they fall down.
That way you exercise your brain and everything you hear is new to you.

3 things:
1.thank you! i'lll do that!
2. *she
3. i would've put 3, if you had said 3-4. you're supposed to always go with the bottom number on those things.

In your first link, anytime you shoot into the sun, you will get some spill over into the rest of your subject usually resulting in low mid-tone contrast. The framing seems a bit akward for me...parts of the branches are cut off and parts of the sun are cut off. The branch at the bottom left is particularly bothersome and the branches at the top left form leading lines leading the eyes away from the photo. All in all, it's a picture of a tree without an interesting background. Sometimes a lone tree can make a very interesting subject...sometimes not.