Your best marketing advice

jowensphoto

Been spending a lot of time on here!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
What has been your most successful way of marketing your business? Or the least successful?

Well, I'm not a professional photographer but as far as marketing goes I know a few things.

1. Word of mouth is probably the most difficult, yet most powerful medium for translating potential clients to actual clients. If you have a satisfied customer, and they tell their friends it's a very powerful motivator. Conversely, tick off a customer and they will tell 20 friends (or more) about what a lousy exeperience they had.

2. A good social network can work wonders. Similar to word of mouth, works on customers basically singing your praises.

Least effective (IMHO) are wordy, small advertisements in the newspaper. Old medium, expensive, and have a very short shelf life (1 day or so). Similarly yellow page ads are a waste of time. When is the last time you bothered to open a phone book, let alone the yellow pages?

Radio can be effective, but mainly to keep up awareness not to drive traffic to your store.

Hi what type of photographer are you? different marketing works for each field of photography. you can get a free ebook from Alan Chapman Photography Marketing - on the 7 photography marketing habits of successful photographers.
Photography marketing is my field if you have any more questions just ask
Cheers

where do we send the difference from the check you disburse?