Your recommendation on studying photography online??

starcluster

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I mean studying Bachelor of Fine Arts (BFA) Degree in Photography..

I know that I dont need a degree in photography if what i want is to be a pro...
but i am living in a world where a certen type of study (degree) is important for people to understand that am not joking when i say that i (like photography ) and i want more of it....

why taking a (BFA) while i can try taking simple coures?
- Its because a BFA will be more challenging and formal to keep me Occupied with photography for four years...

- and i can easily afterward start my business in photography..

- And To give me more confident.

I work as a teacher in a totally different world than photography. and my work takes most of my time.
you can say by studying the BFA will give my life the balance between my passion for photography and my jop....

So do you think it would be a good a idea to try it? Or will it be a waste of money and time? And why?
Have any one studied online before?
would YOU try it your self??

You've already got my reply in the canon group, but I'll post it here as well to air my thoughts on this site in addition.

My view is that online studies are a great way to study for something that is strongly based in theoretical or book work. If you're studying theories of composition (as an example) that can easily be done remotely since the bulk of the work is reading and comprehension with guidance and tests on understanding - which can be done remotely.

Photography, as a more practical application however is a totally different kettle of fish. If you're wanting to learn practical hands on side to things then you want your teacher there with you. Able to see the conditions as you are in them, able to watch how you setup and take shots and able to provide input on corrects or creative ideas or demonstrate practical methods or skills.