Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    I spend too much of my life on TPF!
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Cincinnati, OH
    Posts
    748
    My Gallery
    (10)
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
    Liked
    93 times

    Lightroom 4 to 5: Upgrade existing catalog or create new?

    I'm in the process of upgrading from Lightroom 4 to 5. In Martin Evening's LR5 book he suggests creating an empty catalog instead of upgrading the LR4 catalog, and then exporting / importing your images from LR4 to 5. He mentions that Publish Services will not come over using this method, but he doesn't specifically mention anything else. I have import presets, export presets, develop presets, metadata presets, filename presets, etc etc. Basically lots of stuff in my LR4 catalog. Will all of these presets come over as part of the export / import process? I'm OK with a little extra work if creating a new LR5 catalog and then importing into it is a cleaner approach, but if I have to recreate *ALL* of my presets from scratch, that may be more work than I care to take on and I'll just upgrade my LR4 catalog.

    Curious what others have done. Thanks.
    Jason
    Canon 5D Mark III
    Canon EOS-M | Canon PowerShot S100
    Canon 16-35mm f/2.8L | Canon 24-105mm f/4L | Canon 50mm f/1.4 | Canon 85mm f/1.8 | Canon 70-300mm f/4-5.6



  2. #2
    TPF Junkie!
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    IL
    Posts
    3,613
    My Gallery
    (0)
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
    Liked
    1779 times
    I always upgrade my existing and all my presets come over with it. I separate my catalogs into years. So I will start a new catalog in 2014.

  3. #3
    I spend too much of my life on TPF!
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Cincinnati, OH
    Posts
    748
    My Gallery
    (10)
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
    Liked
    93 times
    Cool, thanks. The part I'm most unsure about is if I don't upgrade my existing my catalog but instead create a new empty catalog, export images from old catalog and import them into new one - will the presets come with them?
    Jason
    Canon 5D Mark III
    Canon EOS-M | Canon PowerShot S100
    Canon 16-35mm f/2.8L | Canon 24-105mm f/4L | Canon 50mm f/1.4 | Canon 85mm f/1.8 | Canon 70-300mm f/4-5.6

  4. #4
    TPF Junkie!
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Richmond, VA
    Posts
    1,224
    My Gallery
    (0)
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
    Liked
    128 times
    I just did the same thing! LR 5 looks beautiful! I don't have any custom presets though so I'm afraid I can't offer a valid input here, but I did simply upgrade my catalog and everything works as intended. Is it weird though that I routinely delete my catalog??
    Art is just awesome, right?

    LIKE me on FB! https://www.facebook.com/DaryllMorganPhotography

    Check out my website! http://www.daryllmorgan.com


  5. #5
    I spend too much of my life on TPF!
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Cincinnati, OH
    Posts
    748
    My Gallery
    (10)
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
    Liked
    93 times
    Quote Originally Posted by DGMPhotography View Post
    Is it weird though that I routinely delete my catalog??
    Uhh, yeah. Why would you do that?
    Jason
    Canon 5D Mark III
    Canon EOS-M | Canon PowerShot S100
    Canon 16-35mm f/2.8L | Canon 24-105mm f/4L | Canon 50mm f/1.4 | Canon 85mm f/1.8 | Canon 70-300mm f/4-5.6

  6. #6
    TPF Junkie!
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    NoVA
    Posts
    3,598
    My Gallery
    (0)
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
    Liked
    1301 times
    I've gone from 3.2 to 4 to 5 without issues upgrading the catalogs over, even moving it to different hard drives/OS.
    Equipment: Flickr
    Nikon D600 | Tamron 24-70mm f/2.8 VC, 70-200mm f/2.8 VC, Nikon 70-300mm VR, 85mm f/1.8G | SB-700, YN-560II

  7. #7
    TPF Junkie!
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Richmond, VA
    Posts
    1,224
    My Gallery
    (0)
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
    Liked
    128 times
    Quote Originally Posted by JClishe View Post

    Uhh, yeah. Why would you do that?
    Save space on my computer. I just back up all my photos on my external hd.
    Art is just awesome, right?

    LIKE me on FB! https://www.facebook.com/DaryllMorganPhotography

    Check out my website! http://www.daryllmorgan.com


  8. #8
    TPF Junkie!
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    IL
    Posts
    3,613
    My Gallery
    (0)
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
    Liked
    1779 times
    Quote Originally Posted by JClishe View Post
    Cool, thanks. The part I'm most unsure about is if I don't upgrade my existing my catalog but instead create a new empty catalog, export images from old catalog and import them into new one - will the presets come with them?
    All of your presets should be in the same location. If they don't carry over then you can just copy and paste them into the new catalog. When you are in LR there is a place that will show you where your presets live.

  9. #9
    I spend too much of my life on TPF!
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Cincinnati, OH
    Posts
    748
    My Gallery
    (10)
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
    Liked
    93 times
    Quote Originally Posted by DGMPhotography View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by JClishe View Post

    Uhh, yeah. Why would you do that?
    Save space on my computer. I just back up all my photos on my external hd.
    I still don't understand though. Why would you delete your catalog? If your objective is to save space and move your images to an external HD, then just do that. Why delete the catalog?
    Jason
    Canon 5D Mark III
    Canon EOS-M | Canon PowerShot S100
    Canon 16-35mm f/2.8L | Canon 24-105mm f/4L | Canon 50mm f/1.4 | Canon 85mm f/1.8 | Canon 70-300mm f/4-5.6

  10. #10
    TPF Junkie!
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Orange County California
    Posts
    1,614
    My Gallery
    (2)
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
    Liked
    756 times
    Hi Jason,

    This little video may help if you have not figured it out already.

    Lightroom Video ? Installing and Organizing Your Presets in Lightroom 5 | Lightroom Killer Tips

  11. #11
    TPF Junkie!
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Richmond, VA
    Posts
    1,224
    My Gallery
    (0)
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
    Liked
    128 times
    Quote Originally Posted by JClishe View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by DGMPhotography View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by JClishe View Post

    Uhh, yeah. Why would you do that?
    Save space on my computer. I just back up all my photos on my external hd.
    I still don't understand though. Why would you delete your catalog? If your objective is to save space and move your images to an external HD, then just do that. Why delete the catalog?
    I dunno... I just like having things looking clean xD
    Art is just awesome, right?

    LIKE me on FB! https://www.facebook.com/DaryllMorganPhotography

    Check out my website! http://www.daryllmorgan.com


 

 

Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. iView/mediapro catalog to Lightroom 4??
    By SirSoulBrother in forum Graphics Programs and Photo Gallery
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-12-2012, 01:28 PM
  2. I made a mess of my Lightroom catalog!!
    By Leftyplayer in forum Graphics Programs and Photo Gallery
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-06-2011, 11:33 AM
  3. Lightroom Catalog and backup, help
    By gardy90 in forum Photography Beginners' Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-14-2010, 03:46 PM
  4. OS upgrade and LR2 catalog?
    By cfusionpm in forum Graphics Programs and Photo Gallery
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 11-02-2009, 01:26 PM
  5. Can a catalog be shared in Lightroom?
    By billybob in forum Digital Discussion & Q&A
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-19-2008, 06:18 PM

Search tags for this page

lightroom export empty catalog

Click on a term to search for related topics.