Basic studio lighting backdrop for event I'm shooting

Lady707

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
A friend of mine asked me to take pictures at his 50th birthday. The venue will be at a banquet hall and he wants a corner of the room to be set up for pictures with a backdrop. I have no equipment other than my Nikon D750, External flash D910, Sigma 24mm-120mm, 50mm and 35mm and that's it.

What is the minimum amount of equipment I can get away with? I have no experience with studio lighting. I had a look on the internet and saw these two studio & Light kits. One is with umbrella and the other kit is with a soft box. I don't want to stress myself with complicated set up but I do want decent pictures. Suggested tutorials, websites and advise would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks! Alison

Minimum you've already got. Bounced flash is quite nice. If the walls and ceiling are white or very nearly white, point the SB-910 at the ceiling or a wall. Use your 24-120 at 100mm to 120mm. Hand-held, you'll want to keep your shutter speed at or faster than 1/120 sec. 1/1000 sec. would be better. Set your camera and flash to i-TTL and bang away.

If you have already planned to purchase studio strobes and modifiers, then sure, but you wanted to know about the minimum.