Canon 24-70 2.8L verses 17-55 2.8 IS

holleigh22

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I have an original digital rebel with kit lens, 70-200 f/4L and 50mm 1.4. I LOVE my 70-200 and now need a new general purpose lens. I am planning to upgrade my camera- but I am undecided if I will go 40D (which I can afford) or jump into FF which I cannot afford yet, but the Canon Fall rebates do have me thinking about it.

I just started shooting feelance for a local paper and I ordered the 17-55 IS. I got a soft lens with focus issues so I sent it back. Now I am thinking of switching to the 24-70.

In reviewing my images, I mostly shoot above 24 anyway- and most of my shots seem to be at the top end of my current 18-55 kit lense. Feedback I've gotten so far says I need the 17-24 more than the 55-70, but for my style I think this might not be true, even for PJ.

I will only consider 2.8, so really these are my only 2 choices.
Is the IQ of the 24-70 superior to the 17-55 or are they similar?
I am SO AFRAID of the dust issues that I keep leaning toward the 24-70. Plus the weather seal and the fact that it does not telescope seem to indicate it will last longer.

Eventually I want to get the Tokina 12-24 as well...

I do have a 580ex to help with low light shots, and a monopod and Kenko 1.4x Pro that I use for outdoor soccer shots with my 70-200.

SO should I go for the 24-70 (follow my gut) or the 17-55 IS (follow my heart)????
~Holleigh

I am planning to upgrade my camera- but I am undecided if I will go 40D (which I can afford) or jump into FF which I cannot afford yet, but the Canon Fall rebates do have me thinking about it.

First and foremost... you need to decide now if a FF Canon is in your future. If it is, then the 17-55mm is not an option.

In reviewing my images, I mostly shoot above 24 anyway- and most of my shots seem to be at the top end of my current 18-55 kit lense.