Copywright Protection?

kilifila66

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
As I am still fairly new at this whole photography thing, I was interested in what kind of Copywright protection a photographer has over their work? Do you have to apply for CP on every single picture? Do you have a inherent copywright because you shot it, or in other words do you own the exclusive wrights to use those photos? Any info or comments on this are welcome.

Thanks,
Drew

Drew, copyright is not as clear cut as some people think... nor does it protect you as well as it is suppose to. Here in the US, the moment you create a picture, you have a copyrighted image. It's automatic. The problem is, that that copyright is like putting a suitcase lock on your front door. It will keep the honest people honest, but nobody else. The reason is that to protect your copyright, it costs money... lots of money. If someone steals one of your images and uses it for something and you find out and they refuse to pay you for it's use or to even stop using it, all that leaves you is taking them to court... Federal Court, which is not cheap. I've been told by copyright lawyers (Intelectual Property or IP Lawyers) that taking a case all the way through to a judgement could run up to $50k or more. Just to get it into the front door of the court can take up to $10k. And if you win, the judgement against them might not even be enough to pay off your legal fees. So most people have a choice, spend a lot of money to sue someone or walk away from it. I've had it happen to me and though my principles said to take her to court, I found my principles didn't have enough money to do it over the picture she stole and used. I did get her to stop using it, but that didn't really make me feel a lot better after she had gotten away using it in two national magazines and refused to pay me useage fees.