DSLR MADNESS, NEED HELP.

ultrajeeps

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hello everyone,

I am a self taught mediocre photographer and have been very happy with my 35mm SLRs. Recently (about 8 months ago...-)) I decided to look into PRO DSLRs. And after a very long research, I decided upon FUJI S2 which seemed decent and within my budget. Well, the other day, I stumbled upon Olympus Evolt 300 which seemed much better deal than Fuji in everyway. So I did more research and checked out its reviews on dpreviews.com. No one had anything bad to say about this camera at all, I like the fact that it delivers more than FUJI s2, comes with lens and a nice memory card, and a lens. I have some question that I just couldn't answer for myself and would appreciate it if you can bless me with your thoughts on them.

As I to understand that the Evolt comes with 14mm to 45mm lens. I would like to know if this 14mm lens can deliver the same wide angle shots as my analog nikkor lens?

Fuji S2 is 6MP and it will allow me to use my nikkor lens. Will it make a drastic difference in picture QUALITY comparing to an 8MP?

If I go with Fuji S2, I would not need to buy lenses which a big plus.

I would highly appreciate any help.

The S2 is relatively old while it is still a good camera.

The olympus is a great camera

Using you 14mm lense will not give you the full wide it would on film,i dont know what the FOV crop on the e300 is but ill assume it as 1.6 but maybe it is less because it is 2/3 sensors that have 1.6FOVC? (someone will know this) but using 1.6 (14x1.6) you get a 22mm equivelant lens, not a HUGE difference but a considerable one.

With the quality the resolution isnt key, but the quality of each pixel, 6 and 8mp isnt a huge difference but i can guarentee you will be happy with the quality off the olympus sensor

Can some answer if it is 1.6 fovc on the e300? or is it something else (i was guessing because it dosent list it on the olympus site)

Hopew that helped