External flash recommendation for Nikon D5300

gpolonsky

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hi, I've bought recently the Nikon D5300. Now I want an external flash and I'm between the Nikon SB300 and the Nikon SB500 (not betters as my budget is not big). I can't make the choice, I've read that SB500 is great but D5300 doesn't have all the needs to make full usage of the SB500 capabilities. I'm not a professional photographer, I just use it to take family pictures, vacations, etc. Can you please recommend me one and let me know why? Thanks! Guillermo.

If I were you, I'd check out the Yongnuo line of flashes...Much more affordable and excellent quality.

I've read that SB500 is great but D5300 doesn't have all the needs to make full usage of the SB500 capabilities.
I don't understand this at all. Just be extra skeptical of stuff you read on the internet.

I use a Nikon D5000 and a Nikon SB-910. The only thing the D5000 is lacking that I am aware of is commander mode for the Nikon CLS. Oh, and HSS, too.

One other comment you made about the flash being "bulky" also seems strange because frankly, a full-featured speedlight of one make is going to be the same size as a comparable model of another manufacturer. You don't need to keep it in the hotshoe all the time, just when you want on-camera flash.

Here's a comparison of Nikon flashes including the sb300 and sb500
==> Nikon SB-300 vs. SB-500 vs. SB-700 vs. SB-910 Speedlight flash specs comparison Nikon Rumors

There was also an older sb400 which is no longer sold which is a bit more compact I think - comparison onf sb300, 400, 500
==> Compare Nikon SB-300 vs Nikon SB-400 vs Nikon SB-500 vs Nikon SB-700

But I understand the "compact" remark.
There are times I'm on a kids field trip and I wish I had something more than the popup flash