Feedback on my plan to shift from FF Nikon DSLR to APS-C Fuji mirrorless

texxter

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I wanted to share with you my thinking about my camera transition in progress and get your feedback. I know this is a very personal preference but I like to listen to different points of views and keep an open mind.

I have been shooting Nikon DSLRs for 13 years and full frame DSLR for the last 10 years, starting with the excellent D700. During these years I acquired a lens kit with the best Nikon and prime lenses. The weight and bulk of this equipment is no longer appealing to my current style of photography and I am moving to Fuji mirrorless and selling all my Nikon equipment.

My main interest is travel, portraiture and street. I may do some architectural or landscape work as part of travel, but I am focused on the human experience for the most part.

I abandoned using the Nikon gear a while ago and have been traveling extensively with my Fuji x100 and then x100t. I don't have plans to move from the x100t to the x100f, but there is a next gen Fuji x100* coming in 2020.

The camera replacing the FF Nikon is Fuji XT-3. My dilemma is how to deal with lenses, and this is where I could use some feedback. My current plan is to actually limit the number of Fuji lenses to just 2, namely, the highly-praised 18-55mm kit lens (variable aperture f2.8-f4) and the 56mm f1.2. This covers most of my needs, but obviously I only have fast glass at the 85mm equivalent. To compensate for that I plan to keep my x100t with its excellent 35mm equivalent f2 fixed lens with the WCL converter lens, to get the 28mm equiv at f2. This is the camera I take when I travel, so I will be able to use it for that purpose and also in town whenever I want to do street or impromptu portraits. Love the leaf shutter on that camera for flash photography as well. Once the new x100* is available next year i will upgrade my x100t.