Finally dipping my Feet into artificial lighting - SB600 or something else?

Raj_55555

Indian God of Photography
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Website
www.rajarshiphotography.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I have been volunteering at a street dog shelter on a regular basis since a few months. I was recently asked by the person who takes care of the entire shelter whether some of my friends can come with their camera and do a photoshoot of the dogs/puppies thus making it easier to find a home for them.

I offered them my camera & skills instead, and this gave me the perfect excuse to dwelve into the world of artificial lighting.

My plan is to spend on a 50mm f1.8 and a SB600 for the sessions, and maybe a white sheet of somekind. I'm a total noob at photoshoots & flashes, so any suggestion regarding cheaper/better flash options, and how to go about it would be appreciated. Thanks in advance folks, excited to finally have an opportunity to get into more advanced lighting setups than natural lights! :icon_mrgreen:

The 50mm would be nice to have, but for flash photography you simply don't need it. If you can afford the SB-600, it will serve you well. Learn to bounce the flash rather than aim the flash directly at your subject. A sheet might work for a backdrop, but any wrinkles will show in the photographs. A sheet would also work well as the reflector for the flash. Or nearly anything that is large and white. Set up a small stage for posing the animals. Practically any plain surface would work for the backdrop. Arrange the reflector just to one side of your camera, and swivel the flash head to aim toward the reflector.

I got a good SB 800 for less than a new SB600. I got a very good Metz for very cheap, and they both work well with the built in Nikon flash trigger.

Can you use flashes on dogs without driving them mad? Maybe