Traveltom2406

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
hello everyone! This is my first time using a forum so bear with me :)
I went to blue ridge observatory and star park last night to try Astrophotography for the first time. I’m also a complete beginner and new to photography. I was wondering if anyone could give me feedback and tips on how to get the best astrophotography shots possible :) I often see images with galaxies and nebulas shining bright and dominating the picture. How do I get these shots? Is it through editing or can you capture these in camera?
I’ve included 4 photos, the first 3 have no editing whatsoever but the last is slightly edited. What could I have done to make these shots better? Thank you all!

C4E28003-C677-43DE-B54A-23D60270423A.jpeg
E956AF1E-87A0-47B6-8853-2F3165882FEF.jpeg
91B7D976-3674-47C7-A5F4-20002F83383C.jpeg
EF6355E1-9070-4A67-A8EF-D725982E7F6F.jpeg

I’ve slightly edited the contrast and exposure of this photo.

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
By the last image, you've got boat-loads of light pollution. What you're trying to emulate was probably taken in an area known for lack of such pollution.... truly dark skies.

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
By the last image, you've got boat-loads of light pollution. What you're trying to emulate was probably taken in an area known for lack of such pollution.... truly dark skies.

The last photo was taken just after sunset so it was still pretty light I was just experimenting :) I’m heading to the Pogue Pickett dark sky park this week to try get better shots :)

You might consider purchasing a motorized camera mount to counter the earths rotation. This would allow much longer exposures.

You might consider purchasing a motorized camera mount to counter the earths rotation. This would allow much longer exposures.