First Short Film - The Errand

Ballistics

Been spending a lot of time on here!
Reaction score

Ok, so it's not very good, but this is my final for my intro to film making course.
The course left a lot to be desired, and I kind of feel like I walked away learning nothing from the class.
Luckily I have a background in photography, because I would have been completely lost doing this.

Last edited by a moderator:
Any general comments?

Maybe suggestions on good DSLR filmmaking resources?

Shots are too long in some cases. Could use more establishing shots and then quicker transition shots. Establish the scene, then cut to the story.

hard to explain.

Audio levels are weird. Music should be more pervasive than the sound effects.

hard to explain.

Keep in mind that I just took some bootleg intro course, so none of that really resonates. I am very new with video. Maybe 8 hours total of experience.
Can you explain a little better? Maybe link me some of your work, to give me a visual example?

I agree, I submitted a different edit, and the instructor said that the natural sound wasn't loud enough.

it felt like it was dragging on forever. I challenge you to cut the length in half. Also it hard to hear what was being said at the end, the piece goes so long with to talking and then the few words go by real fast, I had to re watch hat part just to understand what was being said. Also the music just does not match the content. The music is to cheerful.

hard to explain.

Keep in mind that I just took some bootleg intro course, so none of that really resonates. I am very new with video. Maybe 8 hours total of experience.
Can you explain a little better? Maybe link me some of your work, to give me a visual example?

I agree, I submitted a different edit, and the instructor said that the natural sound wasn't loud enough.

OK let me try.

So you want to have a scene of a guy getting into a car.

1. Wide shot of car and place he is leaving from
cut.