First wedding: need advice on pic

kric2schaam626

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I photographed my first wedding over Memorial Day weekend. I had a lot of fun doing it and am hoping for more. For being my first one, I don't think it turned out nearly as bad as I thought. Some of pictures did turn out kind of grainy. Please help me, I am new to the technical terms of photography. I'm guessing I had a high ISO when I didn't need it? My flash was also being goofy when we were outside - another kink for me to fix. Anyway, here's the bridal party outside. Thanks for your help.

First, a large portion of the image is soft. The softness is strangely shaped, which leads me to believe that it was caused by a smudge on the lens or an aberration in the lens itself. If the former, you need to clean your lens more often. If the latter, you need a new lens. I have highlighted the soft area in red below:

DSC_0249trycopy.jpg

Second, the foreground is underexposed, while the sky is overexposed. The underexposure of the skin tones appears to have resulted in inaccurate reproduction of skin tones; they seem a little off to me.

There is quite a bit of noise in the image. Shooting at ISO 800 is entirely unnecessary in such lighting conditions.

The composition is poor, given that there is a woman to the right behind the groom. Her being behind his arm removes the effect that framing them with negative space (like on the left of the bride) would have had.

Fill flash in this image is a must. The EXIF says that you used it, but setting it on auto was not enough. You need to know how automatic flash metering works, how it behaves on Nikon cameras, and then adjust the exposure comp to compensate for lighting conditions. One should also pay attention to the clipping warning (that the D80 surely has) that appears on the LCD display of the image.