Flash 101

bbaker35

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Let me start by saying that I am such a newbie here, but learning alot and enjoying it too. I picked up a 350D a couple months ago and have taken quite a few shots. I have the kit lens which sucks and also the low end Canon 75-300 f4-5.6 (which I have been very dissapointed with.) I am getting the 50mm 1.8, but am also thinking about getting a flash too. I have asked for the Canon 420X Speedlight...

The only problem is..When I get it I won't have any idea how to use it, what it can do or when to use it.

Is there anyone familiar with Flashes (i'm sure there is) That can give me some flash 101? Any help would be greatly appreciated! Thanks!

B

A flash when used properly can be a great benefit to your craft. Learn how to use the flash out doors in daylight as fill. Dial the output down about 1/2 stop to fill in the deep shadows without over powering the subject. Another thing I do is attach the flash to the camera using a remote cable and hold the flash out about 2 or 3 feet from the lens. Use a diffuser on the flash to reduce it's harshness. I shoot Nikon, so I can't help with specifics, but your new flash should come with a decent manual. Read up and practice, a lot! And enjoy your craft, play with it until you know your camera, flash, and lens as if they were the preverbal back of your hand. It won't take as long as you think.

RTFM :mrgreen:

Seriously though, it should be pretty straight forward as it matches the camera and should be a clever enough combo to do the job well.

As for when to use flash... use flash when there isn't enough ambient light to capture your subject. Typically any shots of people indoors are good flash candidates. The other big use I can think of off the top of my head is to increase the lighting on the subject to darken the background and minimise it's impact on the shot.