Frustration - noise and grain

ajmall

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.photodrew.co.uk
I've been shooting with my D70s for around 6 months now. When I first got the camera, I had:

18-70 kit lens
Sigma 24mm 2.8 macro
Sigma 15mm 2.8 Fisheye
Sigma 70-200 2.8 (Wish I hadn't bought this but it was cheap and i needed a 2.8 zoom)
Yesterday, I bought a nikon 50mm 1.8

My dilemma - more often than not I get very grainy and noisy images, which are so frustrating because a lot of the time are hard to fix. To be honest, I don't want to have to fix them!

Should I expect a lot of noise one 400 ISO? I get it on 200 but not as much and sometimes shooting on 400 is the only option. I've seen so so many crisp and perfect images shot with a D70 on the internet I wonder where I'm going wrong? For the most part I thought having cheap glass was it but shooting on my 50mm last night proved me wrong - even on multiple exposures at different settings I still got a lot of noise.

The examples below were taken last night but I have more with the same amount of noise in daylight. Both are unedited RAW (NEF) files, cropped and saved as level 12 JPEGs.

ISO 400
http://www.photodrew.co.uk/pics/noise01.jpg (Warning - 2.5mb)

ISO 200
http://www.photodrew.co.uk/pics/noise02.jpg (1.69mb)

I also have the cameras noise reduction feature turned on.

Please help as this is really frustrating for me as I end up just deleting photos I've spent hours taking. Thank you.

Maybe you are being too critical. From the example, the noisy areas are under exposed...becuase it's dark and there are those bight lights....tough scene to expose for.

Also, with digital images, we tend to zoom in really close and examine it. If you blew up a film image that much...you would see similar grain.

If you resized the images for web viewing, the noise would hardly be noticeable.