Hello new and would appreciate your advice :)

louisa86

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hello! :)

I have been practising photography for 6 months, before this time i had never even owned a camera :confused:.

I am self taught and would really appreciate any advice that you have for me on the below. I just dont seem to be getting the effect that i want, i am currently using a free editing programme called Picnik and not sure if my horizons would be increased by using photoshop, with a £1,000 price tag though im not jumping to get it.

Appreciate your thoughts and any advice you have on how to make my photos better, also its not very sunny where i live most of the time and i wondered if you had any tips for taking photos when it is grey and cloudy. Thank you!!

My flicker page www.flickr.com/photos/merikas

. I just dont seem to be getting the effect that i want, i am currently using a free editing programme called Picnik and not sure if my horizons would be increased by using photoshop, with a £1,000 price tag though im not jumping to get it.

Appreciate your thoughts and any advice you have on how to make my photos better, also its not very sunny where i live most of the time and i wondered if you had any tips for taking photos when it is grey and cloudy. Thank you!!

My flicker page www.flickr.com/photos/merikas
Hello, and welcome to the forum :)

I checked out your flickr photos, and actually they look pretty good to me. You do seem to centre your subject in the frame most of the time though - this can be fine, but trying mixing it up a bit and read up on composition guidelines like the "rule of thirds".

Photoshop is the "standard" but is not really necessary. I can't comment on Picnik as I haven't used it. My favourite is Paint Shop Pro, now by Corel, which I think is around $100 for the full version. If you really want to save money, you can learn GIMP - it's free and still very powerful, though I personally didn't find it very intuitive to use.